

Continuing Education Program

Committee Membership 2024-2025

Chair:

Vincent Behm, Christ the Redeemer Catholic Schools, CASS Board of Directors

Committee Members:

Kimberly Frykas, Grande Prairie Public School Division, Zone 1

Shauna Boyce, Parkland School Division, Zone 2/3

Dr. Ryan Sawula, Red Deer Catholic Regional Schools, Zone 4

Dr. Chris Fuzessy, Foothills School Division, Zone 5

Terri-Lynn Duncan, Horizon School Division, Zone 6

Wesley Oginski, Holden Rural Academy, Charter Schools

Jonathan Kaiswatum, Tsuu'tina Education, First Nations School Authority

CASS Representatives: David Keohane, CASS CEO

Gloria Antifaiff, CASS Principal Leadership Consultant

For more information contact: ☑ <u>david.keohane@cass.ab.ca</u> ☑ <u>gloria.antifaiff@cass.ab.ca</u> ☑ <u>vbehm@redeemer.ab.ca</u>

CASS CEP Committee Meeting Highlights January 8, 2025

The purpose of the CASS Continuing Education Program Committee is to provide recommendations regarding the continuing education program to the Governance and Nominating Committee to recommend to the CASS Board of Directors.

☑ Update on 24-25 CEP Communication Plan

The Administrative Procedures (APs) associated with the Continuing Education Program (CEP) will be highlighted over the next few weeks in *CASS Connects*. Currently, there are four APs related the CEP:

- AP-300 Accreditation,
- AP-301 Audit and Adjudication of Accreditation,
- AP-302 Sanctions, and

• AP-303 Program Quality Assurance. All APs can be found in the *Member Portal* on the CASS website in the *CASS Administrative Procedures Manual*.

☑ Conference Planning Committee Update

An updated was provided about the first Conference Planning Committee meeting held on December 18, 2024. This is a new committee responsible to the CEP Committee and guided by a Terms of Reference. The purpose of the Conference Planning Committee is to provide recommendations to the CEP Committee on the planning of the CASS Conferences, including Start Right and Leading for Learning. The First Nations, Métis and Inuit Education Gathering is not included in the mandate of Conference Planning Committee because it has its own advisory action committee. Members of the Conference Planning Committee are:

CASS Board of Directors/Committee Chair

• Dr. Andrea Holowka, Superintendent, Christ the Redeemer Catholic Schools (Zone 5 Representative)

Committee Members

- Zone 1: Corinne Kruse, Director of Teaching and Learning, Grande Prairie Public School Division
- Zone 2/3: Dr. Peter Barron, Superintendent, St. Paul Education
- Zone 4: Jodi Smith, Associate Superintendent for Inclusion, Red Deer Catholic Regional Schools

 Zone 6: Robbie Charlebois, Associate Superintendent of Human Resources, Lethbridge School Division

First Nations School Authority

- Jonathan Kaiswatum, Director of Education, Tsuu'tina Education CASS Non-Voting Members
 - David Keohane, Chief Executive
 Officer
 - Gloria Antifaiff, Principal Leadership Consultant

At the first committee meeting, an orientation of the committee's work was provided, an overview of the Fall Conference Feedback was provided, followed by a future conference discussion based on three questions:

- 1. What insights does the data provide?
- 2. Which existing elements should we retain?
- 3. What elements should we consider introducing?

The committee also welcomed Colleen Symyrozum-Watt to provide a final report for 2024 Start Right and Leading for Learning. The committee's next meeting is on February 3, 2025.

Development of Annual CEP Survey

The committee members continued to review and refine the Annual CEP Survey. As a reminder, the purpose of the annual CEP survey is to ensure that the CASS Continuing Education Program is providing professional learning for system education leaders to meet the competency requirements as it pertains to the enactment of the Alberta professional practice standards. The goal is to administer the survey during the final zone meeting of each year.

☑ Next Meeting

The next CEP committee meeting will be on Tuesday, February 11, 2025.

