CASS Presidents


CASS President’s Message

The College of Alberta School Superintendents (CASS) is nearing the end of its first year of formation after been granted professional status this past September. During this year, there has been tremendous diligence by the Board in ensuring that all elements related to formation are achieved. Through this foundational work, CASS has been able to uphold its dedication to being the professional voice of Alberta’s system educational leaders, whose mission is to build system leadership excellence to ensure quality school leadership, quality teaching, and optimum learning for all students in Alberta. On behalf of the CASS Board of Directors, I wish to express gratitude for all CASS members who continue to support this 65-year tradition of system leadership excellence, through which improving student learning remains the primary goal for the organization.

The recent development of bylaws, board committees, and governance structures has allowed the CASS Board and membership fulfill professional formation obligations. The lived experience of this work is guiding CASS as a professional organization and providing support to its members. Most notably, the zone structure of CASS continues to allow five local zones to meet as committees several times during the year to discuss CASS-related topics within local contexts. This dialogic structure also allow each zone to provide feedback to the CASS Board for future consideration and possible actions. The CASS Board’s composition requires membership from each zone across the province. Through this model and by intentional succession planning within the Board and zones, assurance of strength at both local and provincial levels can be maintained.

CASS is an organization focused on future growth and evolution. Ongoing attention will be given to the development of the Continuing Education Program (CEP), which will be implemented in September of 2024. CASS will also benefit from the addition of a public member appointed to the CASS Board during the 2023-2024 year. Further support will be provided to enhance learning and collaboration among CASS members surrounding topics related to the Superintendent Leadership Quality Standard (SLQS) and Leadership Quality Standard (LQS). Such professional learning is supported through three annual CASS conferences, the annual CASS First Nation, Métis and Inuit Gathering, and various alternative forms of learning opportunities and resources. With the support of the Board and the continuous feedback from members, CASS remains committed to serving members’ learning needs that allow system leaders to create the conditions for student excellence within each school division.

On behalf of the CASS Board of Directors, I would like to thank all CASS members, past and present, who have contributed both to CASS and to educational excellence in our province. For those who are new to the organization, we wish you all the best in your service as system leaders within Alberta.

Dr. Andrea Holowka


Years Served Name School Authority Position
2023-24 Dr. Andrea Holowka Christ the Redeemer Catholic Schools Superintendent
2022-23 Dr. Scott Morrison Christ the Redeemer Catholic Schools Superintendent
2021-22 Dr. Wilco Tymensen Horizon School Division Superintendent
2019-21 Bevan Daverne (2-year term) Golden Hills School Division Superintendent
2018-19 Kurt Sacher Chinook’s Edge School Division Superintendent
2017-18 Christopher MacPhee Canadian Rockies Public Schools Superintendent
2016-17 Colleen Symyrozum-Watt Pembina Hills Public Schools Superintendent
2015-16 John Waterhouse Westwind School Division Deputy Superintendent
2014-15 Karl Germann Grande Prairie Catholic Superintendent
2013-14 Dr. Larry Jacobs (D)* Wolf Creek School Division Chief Superintendent
2012-13 Craig Foley Calgary Catholic School Division Superintendent, HR
2011-12 Roger Nippard Northern Lights School Division Superintendent
2010-11 Barry Litun Lethbridge School District Superintendent
2009-10 Greg Woronuk Peace River School Division Assistant Superintendent
2008-09 Paulette Hanna Red Deer Catholic Reg. Division Superintendent
2007-08 Dr. Jim Brandon (D)* Foothills School Division Deputy Superintendent
2006-07 Mary Lynne Campbell Parkland School Division Superintendent
2005-06 Barbara Gammon Palliser Reg. Division Assoc Supt.
2004-05 Barry Stangeland High Prairie School Division Assoc Supt.
2003-04 Patricia Dorney (D)* Calgary RCSSD No. 1 Area Superintendent
2002-03 Jim Gibbons Chinook’s Edge School Division Superintendent
2001-02 Dr. Hal Kluczny (D)* Wetaskiwin R.P. School Division Superintendent
2000-01 Dr. Darwin Eckstrom Peace Wapiti Dep. Supt.
1999-2000 Ed Wittchen Northern Lights School Division Superintendent
1998-99 John Darroch Palliser Reg. Division Assoc. Superintendent
1997-98 David A. Lynn Foothills School Division Superintendent
1996-97 Dr. David Young (D)* Parkland School Division Superintendent
1995-96 Brian Callaghan Canadian Rockies Superintendent
1994-95 Muriel Dunnigan Edmonton Catholic Schools Assoc. Superintendent
1993-94 Dick Baker (D)* Edmonton Public Schools Assoc. Superintendent
1992-93 Merv Kurtz County of Lacombe Superintendent
1991-92 Dave Thomas East Smoky School Division Superintendent
1990-91 Gordon Welch Strathcona County Superintendent
July 1990 Dr. Alan MacLeod Willow Creek School Division Superintendent
1989-90 Warren Phillips County of Mountain View Asst. Superintendent
1988-89 Dr. John McCarthy Calgary Catholic Superintendent
1987-88 Gary Kiernan Lakeland Public Superintendent
1986-87 Jacqueline Gee Strathcona Count Assoc Superintendent
1985-86 Robert David County of Lacombe Superintendent
1984-85 Harold Parr (D)* Rocky View School Division Deputy Superintendent
1982-84 Gerry Heck Fort McMurray Catholic Superintendent
Jul-Sept 1982 Bill Brownlee Red Deer Public Superintendent
1981-82 Dr. Gordon Rancier Strathcona County Superintendent
1980-81 Dennis Grant Grande Prairie Catholic Superintendent
1979-80 Dr. Robert Plaxton (D)* Lethbridge Public Superintendent
1978-79 Gerry Wilson Three Hills School Division Superintendent
1977-78 Dr. Harold MacNeil (D)* Edmonton Catholic Superintendent
1976-77 Alvin Myhre County of Parkland Superintendent
1975-76 Dr. Jack Van Tighem (D)* Calgary Catholic Superintendent
1974-75 Harold Jepson (D)* County of Mountain View Superintendent
1973-74 Bert Strain (D)* Stettler School District Superintendent
1972-73 Frank Riddle (D)* Medicine Hat Public Superintendent
1971-72 Jack James (D)* Calgary Public Sec. Schools Supt.
1970-71 Dr. Harold MacNeil (D)* Edmonton Catholic Superintendent
1969-70 Robert Kimmit (D)* Lethbridge Catholic Superintendent
1968-69 Dr. Robert Warren (D)* Calgary Public Superintendent
1967-68 Harold Dawe (D)* Red Deer Public Superintendent
1966-67 Dr. Olaf Larson (D)* Medicine Hat Public Superintendent
1964-66 Dr. Peter Bargen (D)* Edmonton Public Superintendent

*(D) Deceased